10 Tenets Of The Taxpayers Bill Of Rights

What You Need to Know About the Taxpayer Bill of Rights

What You Need to Know About the Taxpayers Bill of Rights:

Most people are aware that breaking IRS rules, even without meaning to, can be a serious problem. It may seem like this agency has all the power, but the IRS is also bound to certain rules they must follow. Here is what tax attorneys say you need to know about the taxpayer Bill or Rights.

This Bill of Rights was adopted by the IRS in 2014 to put all of the taxpayers rights into one place as defined in the tax code. The objective was to make it easier for the average person to understand their rights without having to search through the entire tax code.

The Taxpayers Bill of Rights has ten principles:

Taxpayers have the right of
1. Being informed,
2. Paying only what they truly own,
3. The right to challenge an IRS determination,
4. The right to appeal a decision under an independent review,
5. Finality in decisions,
6. The right to privacy,
7. The right to confidentiality,
8. The right to have a legal representative,
9. The right to quality customer service,
10. The right to a tax system run fairly and justly.